The Philosophy of Monday…

For some, Monday is the end of great times.
Others suggest Monday begins greatness.
For me, this Monday was unique in that for the first time in 50 years, I had lunch with my older, much wiser brother.
Our last personal interaction occurred when he was still a drug enforcement cop in the 80s, and I was underage in a bar. I pushed the issue just a bit hard, and his ASP Enforcer baton was on my neck no differently than if I’d been unrelated to the man.
He’s grown up a little, and so have I.

My brother is a man of men. Frequently on Anderson Cooper, defending police dogs, quoted in the novels of famous crime writers.

Yet he’s also my brother, dressed in Harley leather on his ElectraGlide, traveling the nation teaching young lawyers to be better people.

It was an honor to be at a table with him and watch the looks as folks recognized his well-known face, yet he retains a humble dignity through it all.
And, he’s my brother.

From him, I’ve learned to be less quick to judge, more quick to look into the root of a problem instead of seeing the surface. He taught me from very young to protect our sister, to protect that which is ours. He fought against bullies for me (although he bullied me himself).

I’d say he’s taken the tools given to him by his parents, and honed them from swords into plowshares. I’ve witnessed first hand how he has raised his family in a more logical, compassionate place than either he or I had the opportunity to experience.

Today he showed me that in spite of his many books used as text books at colleges such as Yale, Harvard, Stanford…he’s just a guy with all the same hopes and dreams most of us have.

This first experience (lunching with my brother) was simple, humble, and remarkably profound for me, as I discovered that while he is the man I boast of to so many, he’s also just a guy  with the same fears, desires, and ambitions, and in this Monday meeting, a new philosophy of brother to brother relations is born between us.
Thanks for the afternoon, K. I love you big brother.

Published by

DSE

I've been a successful sales manager, musician, film/video professional, instructional designer, and skydiver. Picked up a few pieces of gold, brass, titanium, and tin along the way. This blog is where I spill my guts about how I'm feeling at any given moment, and maybe a blurb or two about what's happening in the sales, video, or skydiving worlds.

Leave a Reply

