Do you believe?

I believe in fairy tales.

I believe that nice guys can finish first.

If you clap your hands three times and say “I believe in fairies,” good things will happen in your life (I don’t believe Tinkerbell will reveal herself, however).

I believe that love is when hurting her hurts you more.

I believe it’s taking me a long time to become the person I want to be.

I believe I’m a good person even as I work towards being better.

I believe in heroes. They do what needs to be done regardless of the consequences. Heroes stand up for heroes.  Cowards hide in the dark.

I believe in Santa Clause; I don’t believe he has a big white beard and has a stable of flying reindeer. But he does come in the night, quietly, and leaves behind good will towards others.

I believe in angels. I saw one only today.

I believe that great friendship can grow over long distances. The same holds true for love.

I believe that the world revolves regardless of the griefs in our lives.

I believe that no matter how good or well intentioned a friend or lover may be, they’re going to hurt you once in a while.

I believe that every now and then I might be angry and I have ever right to be angry. But I don’t have the right to be cruel.

I believe in forgiveness.

I believe that forgiving others sometimes isn’t enough; sometimes you have to forgive yourself.

I believe that forgiving yourself is much harder than forgiving someone else.

I believe I’ve suffered great pains, but have grown upward from them.

I believe I’ve died a little and been reborn a little several times.

I believe in knights in shining armor, even if they’re wearing blue jeans and a hole-filled Tshirt.

I believe that love is worth fighting for, being brave for, risking everything for.

And I believe  that “if you don’t risk everything, you risk even more.”

I believe in doing my best for myself and for those around me.

I believe human beings are essentially good in heart.

I believe that some human beings bring out the worst in us while those that bring out the best in ourselves are the people we should be nearest.

I believe violence is acceptable in times of great adversity and all else fails to reconcile freedom.

I believe in adventure, in trying new challenges, reaching new heights, pushing the human body and soul beyond where apparent limits lie.

I believe in helping others to achieve their dreams. Failing that, being an intentional obstacle to an achieved dream is evil.

I believe truly good people can do truly bad things. Only those with an evil heart can act with malice aforethought.

I also believe I say more than I should, and don’t heed the advice of Andy Warhol; “Saying ‘I love you’ is like putting a loaded gun to my head because there is no other response than ‘I love you too.’”

I believe in so many things that I’m re-writing my life around the things I’ve believed in for a while now.

And I believe in suspending belief, if only for a short time.

I believe I’m finished.

For now.

Published by

DSE

I've been a successful sales manager, musician, film/video professional, instructional designer, and skydiver. Picked up a few pieces of gold, brass, titanium, and tin along the way. This blog is where I spill my guts about how I'm feeling at any given moment, and maybe a blurb or two about what's happening in the sales, video, or skydiving worlds.

3 thoughts on “Do you believe?”

Leave a Reply

