Fear Zero

Hello, let me introduce you to
The characters in the show
One says yes, one says no
Decide – which voice in your head you can keep alive

I dare you to tell me to walk through the fire
wear my soul and call me a liar
I dare you to tell me to walk through the fire
I dare you to tell me
I dare you to

(Shinedown/I Dare You

Some people follow their dreams. I’d rather chase them down and beat them into submission. If that doesn’t work, heavy boots may be necessary for stomping. Embrace life, stand up for what you believe in, and understand that failure is an important component of success. Fear Zero.

I’d like to say more, but I think my new mantra is just that. Fear Zero. I can’t recall having been as frightened as I was going out of the door for the 1388th time. Jump 1387 nearly put me six feet under. Jump 1390 put me in seventh heaven.  Either way…

My pelvis, post surgery

We can choose to fall, we decide to fail, we can choose to succeed and cry in the process, we can dust ourselves off and get back up, and we can be cowards and lie down in our endeavors.  But whatever we do, we own it in entirety. As Dylan said, I will not go gently… I own myself, I own my life, I own my surroundings, and by god, I’ll own my smile. NOTHING you do can take this from me. Clutching my spirit tight to my breast, I dare you to show me. I dare you to walk through fire and come out the other side. I dare you to run. I dare you to be the very best you can be when your ass has been kicked six ways from Sunday. I dare you to make a difference. A good one. I dare you to fail. And when you do, you’ll revel in the knowledge that you know exactly how NOT to do something. I dare myself every day. In fact, some days when it’s particularly hard, I double-dog dare myself. Some folks wonder about my perma-smirk. Maybe this resolves the wonderment?

I musta been stoned.

A friend told me today “I’m not sure how you’re gonna take this, but in all the years I’ve known you, I’ve never known you to be so happy. Yet I’ve never known you to be so broken. What’s up? What is it that changed in you? I think it’s a good thing.”

What’s up? Well….as dramatic as it sounds, death knocked at my door. I treated him like a Scientologist. Middle finger extended, defiant grin, and told him nobody was home.  I kicked his ass. Man, it feels good. I made a series of goals, and have met nearly every one of them. I’m on a great journey. Wanna join me? Pick up your baseball bat, grab a box of attitude on your way out the door, and march with your head held high with a resolute smile. Because we’re gonna win this day. I’ll help you, you help me. Let’s do this thing, OK?

I was told I’d not walk for months. I gave it the finger.

I was told I’d not skydive for a coupla years. I gave it the finger.

I was told the pain would make me scream. I give it the finger each morning.

Fear Zero.

Sitting at about 1000 feet above the planet
Jump # 1388

Embrace the hurt, the anger, the sorrow, whatever might ail you and use it against itself. Let it be the fuel that makes your motor scream at 10,000 rpm as you hurtle yourself down the freeway, exiting only when arriving at the destination. No distractions, no offramps, not even changing lanes unless an obstacle presents itself.

Get the hell out of the way…because I’m coming into my Second Rising….whatever that may mean.

Fear Zero.

Landing, zero winds.
Ready to run it out.
Published by

DSE

I've been a successful sales manager, musician, film/video professional, instructional designer, and skydiver. Picked up a few pieces of gold, brass, titanium, and tin along the way. This blog is where I spill my guts about how I'm feeling at any given moment, and maybe a blurb or two about what's happening in the sales, video, or skydiving worlds.

4 thoughts on “Fear Zero”

Leave a Reply

