The Voodoo You Doo So Well

Christmas is a child’s favorite time of year. When a new rig arrives, it’s Christmas time no matter when it may be.
I received an email from Rigging Innovations telling me my new Voodoo2 was ready to ship, and it would be arriving early the next week. I was excited.
I asked Rigging Innovations to send me photos of my new rig, as I was on travel and wouldn’t be there to greet the new arrival.
Anticipation filled my day as I kept watching for photos to appear in Outlook. Even though I was on business, i couldn’t focus, couldn’t keep my attentions on the job at hand. And then….
It appeared.
Like a lit-up sign on Times Square, the paperclip attachement icon begged that I come hither and open it. I opened the email to find not one, but TWO photos.
O’, the joy I felt. I finally would be able to see what heretofore only been seen on paper.
And then I found these two photos with a note from Kit.
“Douglas, we took some photos of your new container. Enjoy!, Kit”

At first, I was dumbfounded, speechless. Then I realized what Kit had done…she didn’t want to quell my anticipation, she wanted to increase it.

Monday morning came and went, the FedEx driver came and went with it.
The UPS lady came, but she didn’t knock, so I figured she only picked up our outgoing UPS. Emailing Rigging Innovations, I asked them for a tracking number. They responded with “UPS says it’s already there.”
I ran to the shipping area. There, amongst several other boxes, was a medium sized, non-descript, government issue cardboard box. No markings. I tore off the top only to find another box inside. I tore open that box, only to find a packing slip on top of yet more cardboard.
Peeling back the cardboard, my new joy was revealed; A new Voodoo 2 with all the trimmings. Everything I could ask for in a rig and more.

Thanks, Rigging Innovations. How you took a piece of paper and a few ideas and made it work…very nice. It feels like…it was made just for me! Walked around the office all day with it on my back (gotta wear it in, get rid of the new harnes squeaks), and looking forward to flying it this weekend at the Wingsuit World Record in Elsinore!

Published by

DSE

I've been a successful sales manager, musician, film/video professional, instructional designer, and skydiver. Picked up a few pieces of gold, brass, titanium, and tin along the way. This blog is where I spill my guts about how I'm feeling at any given moment, and maybe a blurb or two about what's happening in the sales, video, or skydiving worlds.

Leave a Reply

