Sebastian Day 8-The Invasion Begins

The INVASION BEGINS!
Today marked the first day of the Invasion, and it has begun. The plane was filled on every load to the point of people packed in like sardines with the tandems. Tandems were so busy that they had to slow loads to wait for tandem rigs to be packed.
The restaurant was hoppin’ from 9:00 a.m. on and the deck was never empty of eats and beverages.
Lotsa loads pounding it out, the weather here is gorgeous, to die for. I feel badly for the folks in the snowy regions. My daughter called to tell me we’d received an additional 26″ of sunshine on top of the already 18″ of sunshine that fell last week, so the snowplows were busy in my driveway. I’m so grateful that I’m not there to supervise.

Amanda was all grins and giggles as the registration desk opened, the packing tent filled, and the aircraft began stacking skydivers. I’m told she has a helluva temper, but I just can’t see past the sweetness she exudes.

Wingsuits…we kicked it out. Lots of great jumps, Jeff Nebelkopf flying base for most of them. Again, that four-way dock was just ever so elusive, but we’ll see it accomplished in another day or so. Andreea was grinning like a Cheshire, and the freefly guys were kicking it out. Wada was taking photos right n’ left (but I sure hope he figures out what it means to secure a helmet on takeoff) and Uve and Range were constantly shuffling between tandems, videos, and AFF students. One excited tandem student was so excited that tears leaked out of her eyes and “no no no” really did sound like “go go go.” She went. I have her screams for at least 3 seconds out the door.

Pizza rounded out the night; served up by the Sebastian local pizzeria. Thanks to the Sebastian staff for providing this meal.
That’s about all I have to say for the moment, there is actually a lot more, but it’s late and I have a 6:30 a.m. camera call….so I’m out.
Blues to ya!

Published by

DSE

I've been a successful sales manager, musician, film/video professional, instructional designer, and skydiver. Picked up a few pieces of gold, brass, titanium, and tin along the way. This blog is where I spill my guts about how I'm feeling at any given moment, and maybe a blurb or two about what's happening in the sales, video, or skydiving worlds.

Leave a Reply

