Sebastian 2008-The Twelfth Day of Christmas

On the Twelfth Day of Sebastian, my true love gave to me….A busy, backflying day!
Today was our last day of shooting for the project we have underway, and it was BUSY! We coulda used more loads. Again…I still don’t understand burning fuel at 30 gallons an hour like we’re seeing here, but….
Dave was bustin’ loads up and down all day. I think he took one potty stop, but offered to share his chicken burrito with me on one of the loads.
We did several loads with Purple Mike backflying as base and Mikhal, Andreea, and Doug taking slots around him. I stung the diamond a couple times as well. Skittles progressed with his coached jumps today.
Norman Kent and Nicole were busting out the freefly jumps, looking awesome in their nearly matching yellow/red/white freefly suits.

Chris Gay and Chris Warnock punched a lot of jump tix today as well, shooting canopy safety basics. This guy probably could use an afternoon with Chris Gay…this landing left him with a limp.

For me, the best part of the day was having the opportunity to lay back and watch Andreea and Doug M, as they’ve improved their flying tremendously during this week. Andreea was flying well at the start of the week, but by today, she was taking docks with back and belly wingsuit positions, flying on her back, drilling out of flatspins, and flying solidly and quietly. Doug started the week struggling with making it to the flock and not going low. By today, he was solidly getting into the flock and didn’t go low (or high) on the final flock of the day.

As sunset came, Scotty hopped into his Evel Knievel/Captain American Cessna and flew west to ZHills for the night, leaving Justin and I for a final, double-poop backfly jump. We didn’t quite achieve our docks, but did well anyway. We had a ball playing with each other under canopy, flying continuous circles in the dying sunlight, playful as only three year-olds can possibly comprehend. A beautiful way to end the day….Thanks, Justin. That jump was a fun one.

I know…short blog tonight, but it’s late, I’m tired, and the several loads are taking their toll. Today I was a coach, L/O, instructor, packer, videographer, director, editor, writer, and shoulder….I’m beat. Tomorrow is the last day of the year. I’m going to bed.

Published by

DSE

I've been a successful sales manager, musician, film/video professional, instructional designer, and skydiver. Picked up a few pieces of gold, brass, titanium, and tin along the way. This blog is where I spill my guts about how I'm feeling at any given moment, and maybe a blurb or two about what's happening in the sales, video, or skydiving worlds.

Leave a Reply

