Near the End of Recovery Road

Some ask why, some ask how
Truth is all I know, it’s making sense to me and mine
That it’s time to hit the road
So I try. And I wait
Something’s got to give and something has got to break
I’ve waited for this moment, nothing left to give
I’m closing in on the footsteps outside almost in
I’ve waited for this moment…

“Moment”-Midnight to Twelve

Hanging’ in Orlando, near the Convention Center

I’d spent the weekend in Orlando for an Event Videographer’s Convention, hangin’ with my friend Scotty Burns. It was my first trip away from home where I had no babysitter sharing a room or being at my door first thing in the morning. I almost felt normal. Even my flight being delayed for nearly four hours couldn’t kill the spirit of feeling like I’m back in action again.
Orlando was the location for this year’s WEVA (Wedding and Event Videographer’s Association) event, and I performed two presentations, one on the subject of how AVCHD functions and workflows for this newer, challenging format, and the other on the subject of professional audio acquisition. Wednesday morning, I irreverently sat on a panel intended to discuss HD and migrations, workflows, audio, etc. I heard more BS that morning than I think I’ve ever heard at any conference. All that said, I _love_ presenting for WEVA, because not only do they put on a great show with terrific sessions, but they also take good care of their speakers. Audiences are always really receptive and fun, and the organization is very well done.

Blue skies, 120mph wind in my face, sunshine warming my skin, air in my hair….you’d almost think I made my first skydive in four months.
My doctor cleared me to ride my motorcycle today. It’s the best day yet since June 8, 2009.
Took a while to get the bike out of the garage, but once it was out, I felt unchained, unbridled ecstacy moving down the backroads of the Stansbury mountains. I hit Mormon Trail Road feeling like a million bucks as it’s a rarely traveled road and I knew I could open the throttle full-tilt. And did exactly that.

Back in the saddle!

The first thing I noticed is that at 115mph, the road feels a lot less smooth than it does at 60. Cattle guards barely touch the tires but the bumpy road feels like a weak saddle bronc. A couple rattle snakes crossed the road; these should have been portents of things to come….

The second thing I noticed was the police officer’s blue and red lights in my rear view mirror. I probably could have out run him, but he probably had picked my my license plate by then.

Busted!!!

A Fun Ride

As he pulled me over, I started to laugh. He wondered what was so funny, so I started to tell him my story. He smiles and says “I know who you are, and I saw the story in the paper. Are you trying to kill yourself speeding, too?” Asking for my licence, he sees it’s been expired for three weeks. Now it’s even more funny to me. I explain I’ve been in bed for nearly four months and only got clearance to ride a couple of hours previous. The next thing you know, I’m telling him all about how my skydiving incident occurred, and why I wore the braces I was wearing (I think he was impressed with the blue/yellow carbon fiber brace).

And he didn’t even give me a warning. This was one awesome guy. He understood. His parting words were to ask me to please keep my hands inside and on the handlebars at all times, and keep my speed down. Turns out he was off duty and heading for home anyway.

After being pulled over, I headed straight for the Driver’s License Bureau to renew my license (Utah State Offices are closed on Friday), and headed back out on the open road for a couple of hours just “feeling the road.”

I can’t recall the last time I enjoyed such unfettered joy. With music filling my head, the miles passed behind me without notice. All I care about is looking forward, moving fast. Same thing with my body. My mind is back, and I’ve been medication-free for nearly 8 days now. The next thing is learning to live with the small pains and continue to deal with therapy each day.
The CRiPS is still a significant obstacle and enemy that must be crushed before I can be whole again; it is a demon that I would wish on no one, not even my worst enemy (well…maybe on my worst enemy). Each day, it cuts away at my leg muscles, but there has to be a way past this bastard.
We’ll find it. I believe it fully. In the same breath, I believe passion can overcome all things great and small if properly directed.

And if nothing else, I’ve been “waiting for this moment.” For quite a while now. Mentally, emotionally, physically, spiritually; I’ve been a prisoner for quite a while. But today, I am free.

Published by

DSE

I've been a successful sales manager, musician, film/video professional, instructional designer, and skydiver. Picked up a few pieces of gold, brass, titanium, and tin along the way. This blog is where I spill my guts about how I'm feeling at any given moment, and maybe a blurb or two about what's happening in the sales, video, or skydiving worlds.

Leave a Reply

