First Wingsuit Smoke Jump

Tonight I wore smoke with my Blade as we jumped into a demo at a rodeo grounds. Exit was somewhat low at 9000 feet, but we still got nearly 100 seconds of freefall. Jason Carter jumped with me, wearing the TonySuit Raptor. It was his second jump on that suit. Over 6′ tall and only about 180, Jason floats like crazy. He flies very well.
We landed on the racetrack at the arena, there was a target scoped out in the dirt. Three of us hit the target, everyone landed safely and the crowd appreciated the jump.
I learned a valuable lesson about the smoke canister; the back gets very hot, and it burned a hole in the tail of my wingsuit. A beer can needs to go on BOTH sides, not just the smoke side, if I want to protect the tail of the suit. Duh.

Published by

DSE

I've been a successful sales manager, musician, film/video professional, instructional designer, and skydiver. Picked up a few pieces of gold, brass, titanium, and tin along the way. This blog is where I spill my guts about how I'm feeling at any given moment, and maybe a blurb or two about what's happening in the sales, video, or skydiving worlds.

Leave a Reply

