Dreams Die Easy, Hopes Die Hard

Even a stone wants to be more….just do we all. None of us are satisfied with our lives, not if we’re remotely close to sane. We’re always in search of what’s better, what’s more, what’s successful, what’s new, what fills our soul….it’s part of why we skydive. We’re in love with that part of our spirit filled each time we leave the aircraft, when we see the smiles on the faces of our friends, as we better our skills, improve our mental health, rise above ourselves for even the most brief of moments.
We live in hope of a better ‘next time,’ but can accept when next time isn’t quite as good as ‘last time.’
Hopes become dreams, and dreams are meant to become reality. Otherwise, they’re dashed upon the rocks of laziness, poor time management, fear, reality, and worst of all…apathy. Dashed dreams sometimes become loathsome, triggers of self-pity and hate, self-shame, and shame often turns to blame. And then we wonder where the time went.
It set sail as our back was turned away from opportunity, from planned destiny, from dreams becoming tangible.

For years I’ve dreamed of flight. Skydiving gave reality to the dream. My dream grew bigger, to fly in unusual places, such as jumping with the space shuttle Discovery (thank you Scotty, for that gift), flying over the Grand Canyon (thank you Performance Designs Factory Team), and flying over Farnsworth Peak (thank you Skydive Utah, Flock University). All are important landmarks of one kind or another in my life. All are opportunities that didn’t exist until I stood up and made them part of my focus.
There isnt’ a day goes by somewhere that someone doesn’t say “I admire you for all that you’ve done, I wish I could do those things,”
Well….wish harder. Make hopes/wishes become dreams. Make dreams become a reality. Grasp your own destiny by the balls, by the horns, by the handles, or whatever your favorite euphemism is. Bring others into your dream. Drive the bus, make it happen. Git er’ done. You only have one life to DO SOMETHING. And when you’ve done something, do it again. Make life happen, don’t just happen to be in your life.

Nothing breaks my heart more than to hear people say “one day, I’d like to do……” and then realize that they’ll never do XXXX.
Expect failure.
I do.
At least 80% of my endeavors have ended in failure. I’m OK with that, because it gives me information on how to succeed ‘next time.’ Failure is failure, regardless of all the platitudes about how great failure is. Failure is failure. But it doesn’t have to mean the dream died, it merely means you know what to avoid in the next attempt to live the dream, to beat the dream from your mind so it’s gone. Kinda like how I’m beating this particular dead horse.
We can call be so much more than we are if we want to be. Some folks are happy with themselves as they are. Me….I’m always searching for that ‘better tomorrow’ and usually in the process… not only am I a better person, but I’m more experienced.
For me…it’s all part of chasing the dream. And once in a while…I catch the dream, tie it up, thoroughly beat the hell out of it, and smile for a while. Until the next dream sails past.
Fly in beauty;

Published by

DSE

I've been a successful sales manager, musician, film/video professional, instructional designer, and skydiver. Picked up a few pieces of gold, brass, titanium, and tin along the way. This blog is where I spill my guts about how I'm feeling at any given moment, and maybe a blurb or two about what's happening in the sales, video, or skydiving worlds.

Leave a Reply

