Christmas in July

I bought a TonySuit after flying 3 of them in various sizes/models/year configurations. The one consistency is that it is simply MUCH faster to get on/off with a rig than any other wingsuit out there. No cables to play with, no loops to sew up before every jump. Since i’ve missed out on camera jumps or wingsuit jumps due to time between hotloads, speed was important. Putting a rig on is as simple as threading the legstraps through the holes, and you’re done (OK, there are two long zippers).
The other reason I bought a TonySuit is that conceptually, it’s safer than any other wingsuit, because I can easily reach my toggles without having to use cable releases, zippers, RSL’s, or snaps.
Big shout-outs to Patty and Tony at TonySuit. This fit PERFECTLY. Jeff Nebelkopf and Tony both measured me, so I wasn’t too concerned, but damn…this fits nicely. It’s also important (from my location) to note that TonySuits are built/supported in the USA. I don’t want to deal with the Slovenia postage system any more. Birdman eventually took very good care of me, and I’ll likely end up with another Birdman product soon enough, but I was happy to know that my suit was being built by someone who speaks my language, who I can call directly and ask a question such as “Is there a hook knife pocket?” and have the person on the other end know what a hook knife is.

It’ll be a while before I have this suit dialed in, and it’s a little big a little early, but it’s also not the monster I originally thought it would be, based on jumps with the SM1, the older-style M1, and Jeff Nebelkopf’s newer M1 that was at least 4″ too tall for me.

Check back to see how the initial jump experience went.

Published by

DSE

I've been a successful sales manager, musician, film/video professional, instructional designer, and skydiver. Picked up a few pieces of gold, brass, titanium, and tin along the way. This blog is where I spill my guts about how I'm feeling at any given moment, and maybe a blurb or two about what's happening in the sales, video, or skydiving worlds.

Leave a Reply

